Journalists/PR Professionals- Friend or Foe

This is a blog post I wrote for one of my PR classes!

 

Blog Post: “Journalists and Public Relations professionals: Adversaries or Allies?”

            For more years than I can remember, I thought my sister was my competition. I thought that everything we did was a battle of wills. It was a vicious battle between adversaries that mascaraed as friendly fire competition between allies. It was not until I became a Kent State University student that I realized that she was not my competition, but instead my biggest supporter.

            This is how I view the relationship between Public Relations professionals and Journalists. They may be at odds quite often, but they need each other to survive. They are allies, no matter how many stereotypes suggest otherwise.

            While both can function without the other, there are numerous benefits to working together. I think of each profession as a different piece of a puzzle. Sure, each piece looks fine individually, but the puzzle looks best when the pieces are together. Journalists need stories that are explained well and sent to them. Public Relations professionals want to educate the public about their company and use the media to do this.

            The main focus is that the two groups need to establish a common ground. The reporters may be looking for a scoop, while the Public Relations professional may want to communicate a positive new development for the company. Once these groups find common ground, or at least begin to cater to what the other person wants, they can have positive and productive relationships.

            They are not adversaries because they cannot be. If everything is a battle and a competition, the public suffers. An unsatisfied public will result in job losses on both sides. By finding that middle ground, anticipating the needs of each other, building relationships and understanding differences, both groups can continue to be allies behind the scenes. To me, it matters that the job was done and done well. By portraying the information in the best way that educates the public, and recognizing that not everyone is going to be happy, both can have mutually beneficial relationships and success achieving their goals. 

Leave a comment